Unilaterally Sarcastic, Dangerously Cheesy

Happy New Year!

I know it’s been quiet around these parts for the last few weeks, and believe me when I say I apologize for that. My life has been in a bit of upheaval, the biggest change of course being that I’ve left my job as manager at the comic shop in the hopes of going to school full time and finishing that chapter of my life sooner rather than later. Don’t be surprised if that cuts into my time writing for this site. As much as I’ve loved working on the blog this past year, I fully admit that 2010 was not the model year for me in terms of getting my priorities correct. I didn’t focus on my studies because I had a decent job. That job tied into this endeavor, with the owner encouraging my reviews in the hopes of turning people onto new titles they normally wouldn’t pick up. Of course, I’ve been in school now for the better part of six years and I need to be done with it. So as much as I loved working in the shop the responsibility that I’d have to take on after a recent  staffing shakeup would just be too much to handle in addition to refocusing on school.

All of this personal rambling is basically just to point out that the posting on this site will be a bit different in the coming year. For one, the reviews won’t be as varied as without a weekly paycheck I’ll have to live off of my freelance photography paychecks and whatever I have saved up in the bank. That means I will be cutting my comic pulls down quite a bit. I’ve made the decision not to buy films when they come out on home video anymore, and instead just abuse my Netflix like a Chinese whore. I’m reverting back to the traditional college student diet consisting of Ramen and cereal to conserve some extra cash to boot.

Anyhow. The next week will be filled with my 2010 best of lists, as soon as I am able to figure out where everything ranks.

I hope you’ll stick around with me through 2011, as we had a great debut year and hope to do even better this time around.

Leave a Reply

