Unilaterally Sarcastic, Dangerously Cheesy

Film Review – Hanna

This one is a little late but I feel like I should review it anyway. I’m sure most people who thought it was worth seeing have already done so but I have a tremendous ego and therefore I’m going to give my opinion whether they want to hear it or not. I’m sure that even a few people who have seen the movie want to know what I thought about it because I think that highly of myself. I know, it’s not an endearing trait, but I started a blog. The conceit is that you have to believe someone wants to read it, and considering we’ve had more hits this month than we have in our history I’m going to assume that people are actually reading the articles. I may be wrong but I hope I’m not.

The film is good. It’s not any more than that and it’s certainly not any less. It’s a good movie. I think it plays more like a European thriller than most American audiences are willing to deal with and so I don’t expect it to get much love until it gets discovered on home video by a younger generation getting into movies that never got the love they deserved. I get the feeling this will be the Leon for a new generation. The truth is that it’s a movie that feels like Gunslinger Girl meshed with Taken and that the majority of the film is just too quietly contemplative for most action junkies to appreciate and it’s too raw in places for people who enjoy the beauty of nuanced European cinema to embrace it completely. Hanna is a child of two worlds, in the sense of the film and the character. Saiorisesaorisie Ronieanon (because I don’t want to google the proper spelling) is at the same time the sociopath and the innocent. The film is both a thriller and a skillful photograph. The two collide at points and it makes for interesting viewing but I’m just not sure if it works on a whole.

Joe Wright is a tremendous talent, as evident with his previous works and the bits that actually do work in this film. I don’t doubt that he has an eventual Oscar win hidden somewhere in his soul but he needs to find the balance that Hanna never manages to. He knows how to assemble the pieces into something worthwhile but at the same time the pieces fit only loosely and the overall quality of the film suffers as a result. I think had the film taken a more firm focus in either direction it could have been a true perennial favorite of mine, as it stands it’s just a good movie that didn’t really move me in any direction.

Leave a Reply

