Unilaterally Sarcastic, Dangerously Cheesy

Repurposing The Site

I am sure that most of you who read this blog are familiar with Rich Johnston. He of Lying in the Gutters and BleedingCool infamy. He was one of the first community personalities to comment on one of my stories when I reviewed a book he wrote for Image when this blog first got underway. I basically accused him of being a gossip-monger masquerading a journalist in the comments he pretty much said that he rejects the idea of himself as a journalist. Which is good because the way he conducts himself sometimes makes him seem more like a court jester than a reporter. But looking back at that and looking at the way I run this blog I had to think of how I look at myself and what my goals are in bothering to post anything on this site.

I’ve obviously reported the news in the past. When something big happened I tried to make sure that I got it posted and spread around. I know that I’ve never broken any important stories but I felt that it was an obligation to treat stories about major happenings in a certain way. I guess I hoped my little blog would be something akin to an underground ComicsAlliance. I may not agree with their snark 50% of the time but I won’t deny that they have the contacts and the resources to handle the journalistic side of the medium. They’re 100x better than what we got with Wizard, anyhow.

But looking at this past year I’ve been posting fewer and fewer big news items unless they strike me as important enough to write a real opinion piece about. I still write reviews because I enjoy getting my opinion on the record and establishing why I feel a certain way. It’s not a matter of routine for me the way the news posts were. And so I’ve come to the conclusion that CCQ is, at its heart, a blog. And as such I have begun making plans to transition it into a full blown commentary hub. In the coming weeks I hope to be posting far more smaller pieces just to start discussion among my readers. And despite my slowdown in posting I’m still getting a sizeable amount of traffic for a small one-man operation such as this. It’s not a million unique visitors a day but it’s still enough to make me happy I bother to type these things out.

So expect things to go a little differently around here soon. Hopefully for the better.

2 responses

  1. I’d *love* to be a court jester.

    June 29, 2011 at 5:46 pm

  2. Rev. Jacob Dodd

    Rich Johnston, everybody!

    June 29, 2011 at 10:44 pm

Leave a Reply

