Unilaterally Sarcastic, Dangerously Cheesy

TV Review – My Little Pony : Friendship Is Magic S02E01 “The Return of Harmony – Part One”

MY LITTLE PONY : FRIENDSHIP IS MAGIC
SEASON TWO, EPISODE ONE
“THE RETURN OF HARMONY – PART ONE”

It’s back, motherf##kers. Was it worth the wait? You bet your hoof it was! Clearly, I am enamored with this show. This is not news. Or maybe it is. I don’t know. It depends on how long you’ve been reading this blog or my twitter or tumblr or Facebook account. I can’t get enough of the Ponies. I’m not the target audience, clearly. But in the second season I’m not sure there is a target audience anymore because people like myself latched onto the show hardcore and turned it into an internet cult sensation the likes of which has never been seen. I am a proud brony and you can quote me on that.

Friendship is Magic has the distinction of being the product of Lauren Faust, well known for her work on shows like Powerpuff Girls and Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends. I love both of those shows as well. (Shut up) There is a universal wit to the style that Faust brings to the table that, coupled with the artistic style of the show, makes for solid fun for whoever is watching. This is a show for everybody whose soul hasn’t been blackened by cynicism and evil. Seriously, this show is like an animated anti-depressant.

With the second season Faust takes a backseat allowing for new writers to plot the course for the show. This has been cause for some concern that the show might not have the same charm that the first season had under this new direction. That’s not the case at all. Everything that we loved about the first season has come back with this first episode, and though it structurally is similar to the two-part opener of Season One, it maintains the character beats more consistent with the later half of that season. Basically we get continuity and characterization. Yes, I’m being serious. You could easily begin watching this season uninitiated and follow along quite well, but the things that we learned about the ponies come around full circle in this opener and provide a good deal of dramatic weight. Yes, again, I’m being serious.

The story revolves around a villain called Discord who is unleashed from captivity only to reign chaos down on Equestria in the form of cotton candy clouds spitting out chocolate rain. That seems pretty harmless. So of course he also has to divide the ponies up and start prodding them until their deepest fears and character flaws are exposed and the group turns on each other as a result. Heavy stuff for a show aimed at little girls right? Oh, and Discord is voiced by the wonderful John Di Lancie who of course portrayed Q in Star Trek – The Next Generation, so he’s pretty f##king good at it by now too.

It’s an excellent season opener. And I know I seem to be taking this too seriously but f##k you, it’s my blog and I’ll waste my bandwidth how I please. And as such, here’s a streaming copy of the episode so you can enjoy it for yourself;

One response

  1. Golyadkin

    Why’d you use that link? It’s 480p.
    Here’s 1080p: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hm-L-nRwacE

    September 21, 2011 at 6:58 am

Leave a Reply

