Unilaterally Sarcastic, Dangerously Cheesy

Film Review – Piranha DD (2012)

I think my thoughts on Piranha 3D are pretty clear. I have been wanting to catch the followup since I first heard about it a few months back. Unfortunately it wasn’t playing anywhere near me in theatrical 3D format. Considering that the last film’s 3D actually enhanced the movie in a way that you don’t really see with modern films, I’m a little disappointed that I didn’t get to experience the same joy with this one. It’s still a good movie, but there are so many gags in the film that are designed around the 3D gimmick that I feel as if I had been deprived of some of the film’s magic. A good bad movie is a special thing. I wish I could have seen this one the way it was meant to be experienced.

Is it as good as the first one? No, it isn’t. The budget has been slashed to nothing and so the carnage takes a little bit of a hit but there are some inventive tricks on display here. The insanity has been dialed up in other areas and as such the film seems more self-aware than its predecessor in that regard. For some films that would be a bad thing. With something like Piranha, it doesn’t really seem like a negative. I think that has a lot to do with the cast really committing to the parts. Nobody acts like the material is below them. It might be for some of them, but nobody acts like it is.

I don’t really know how to review this one without giving away what makes it so special. Just know that if you liked the first one to any real degree you should go ahead and Redbox this one because there really are worse ways to spend your evening. If you can manage to figure out a way to see it in 3D, do that. I figure it should be a good ride.

Leave a Reply

