Unilaterally Sarcastic, Dangerously Cheesy

CHRIS COOPER IN AS NORMAN OSBOURNE IN AMAZING SPIDER-MAN SEQUEL *MANIACAL LAUGH…MANIACAL LAUGH*

Picture

We know Jamie Foxx is Electro, we know that Shailene Woodley is Mary-Jane Watson, we have heard that Paul Giamatti might be Rhino. Now we know that Chris Cooper will be playing Norman Osbourne, which is just fantastic news because if there’s anyone who can pull off upper-class menace it’s Chris Cooper. The man exudes “evil white guy” and I’m interested to see his version of the character. Willem Dafoe is a favorite of mine but I couldn’t really get behind his Norman. Too greasy and rodent-like. You get the feeling that the guy never really “snapped” to turn into the Goblin and instead wondered if he just slithered forth from the womb mentally unhinged. The guy could order a cheeseburger and you would wonder if he was plotting your demise.

This report comes on the heels of news about an updated suit that looks basically like the Raimi version with bigger eyes that I didn’t post a report about because I was more interested in a plate of Bagel Bites I was consuming. This news however actually made me raise an eyebrow and while I think that Amazing Spider-Man was a bit of a mixed bag, I think it was a good film for the most part and I hope part two is a further step in the right direction.

I’m still not sold on Jamie Foxx but Cooper guarantees my butt in a seat whenever the film hits theaters, that’s for damn sure.

Leave a Reply

