Unilaterally Sarcastic, Dangerously Cheesy

Weekly Comic Reviews

I Do Not Actually Look Like Jesse Custer

Holy crap, it’s been nearly forever since I posted a review. That’s just sad. I’m sorry. I know you’ve probably been going through withdrawals of some sort. I explained myself somewhat in that post earlier but I don’t think I can really explain how busy I’ve been lately using words. You would just have to touch my mind.

ACTION COMICS ANNUAL #13 4.99
BOYS #49 (MR) 3.99
BUFFY VAMPIRE SLAYER #39 LAST GLEAMING PT 4 (OF 5)  2.99
DAREDEVIL #512 SL 2.99
GENERATION HOPE #2 2.99
JONAH HEX #62 2.99
MARINEMAN #1 3.99
SECRET SIX #28 2.99
SHADOWLAND #5 (OF 5) SL 3.99
SHE-HULKS #2 (OF 4) 2.99
SUPERGOD #5 (OF 5) (MR) 3.99
WOLVERINE BEST THERE IS #1 3.99

And here’s the usual witticisms;

MARINEMAN # 1

You know,  I can’t ever remember seeing an Image title and thinking it’d be kid appropriate. Even Invincible, which is one of the best modern superhero books on the stands, is too violent to ever be considered all-ages appropriate. And most Image books are along the lines of Haunt with enough viscera to please established gorehounds. Honestly, Image has been diversifying its books quite well recently with stuff like Skullkickers and Morning Glories so it’s not surprising that they’d have another mold-breaker with Marineman.

It’s actually quite good too. I should probably point that out in a revew. It’s kind of a slow start, but the art is wonderful and the writing simply pops. I feel like this one could stick around on my pull list for quite a while.

SHADOWLAND # 5

The finale of this book is like hitting a brick wall at seventy miles per hour. It’s about as abrupt as you can get. It gets fleshed out in the satellite books, especially the final issue of Daredevil before Black Panther takes over, but the issue itself is short, choppy, and somewhat disappointing. I think the event just dragged on for too long, as most events will do. I can’t really say much beyond that because there’s not a whole lot on the pages to analyze. It feels more like setup for the post Shadowland world than it does a conclusion of the Shadowland arc. It’s sad because the series started off with such great promise.

WOLVERINE – BEST THERE IS # 1

They were stupid not to call this Wolverine MAX. It feels like that’s what they were going for, and I feel like they could have moved twice as many books if they’d labeled it as such. It’s definitely violent and it’s not a cookie-cutter Wolverine story by any stretch of the imagination. Ryp’s style is evocotive of his work for Avatar which only helps make the book feel like a Max title. The first issue was frantic and kinetic as all hell, disorienting at times even. If you’ve been waiting for Wolverine MAX, this is about as close as you’re going to get so go ahead and give it a shot.

***

Sorry this is so short. Again, been busy. Reviews next week should be better as I’ll be finished with finals for the most part and should have some time to breathe.

Leave a comment